Grappling with Boundaries

Old 02-27-2024, 06:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Grappling with Boundaries

Hi all, I am new to joining the forum, though I have been reading along for a while.
My situation is maybe unique to anything I have found here though, so I guess I am reaching out for support in setting and maintaining boundaries while my boyfriend tackles his alcoholism and addiction to weed.
In a nutshell, he and I met in 2020 at a virtual conference and have been friends ever since. We started dating a year ago, with intense highs and lows - we almost got married in June so that he could remain in my country. Yes. We are long distance - and I mean LONG. He is in the USA and I am in Australia. I knew when we started dating that he struggled with sobriety, I wasn't aware quite how bad it was at the time. I do now.
He is also battling depression. Each time I visited him or he visited me he finds it much easier to moderate and reduce his intake and drinking. In part because I ease the loneliness and depression for him because we are together. Our last trip I set a hard boundary to ending the distance, in that one of us has to move for the relationship to continue. He was 100% on board. At least, then he was. As soon as I went home he started hesitating. I own my own home, he rents. I have children (teens), he does not.He just recently lost his job, found a new one he hates that doesn't meet his bills, I have stable work. He has to move out of his apartment because he can no longer afford it. I had to pay all of his bills for January because of the lost jobs and he drank away whatever money he did have. I said no I wouldn't, and he basically forced me to out of the savings I have set aside for a move. I still resent him for crossing that boundary. In fact, I have been financially supporting him for most of our relationship (of which I feel incredible guilty about how I've enabled him now).