Notices

Hello I'm new...

Old 01-24-2011, 07:35 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello I'm new...

Hi my name is Joe and I am undoubtably an alcoholic.

I have been drinking a pint plus of vodka for over a few years now. Very functionally at first, held the job, went to school, had a girlfriend etc. etc., but I definitely had the classic delusions of grandeur (sp?). Now I have lost my job, had to move back in with my mom, lost the girlfriend, and have lots of financial pain and physical pain. In October I went 30 days without a drink, went to meetings, met a sponsor, and then something about that 30 day mark - I tried to do some contolled drinking. Well, it didn't end up being very controlled. The whole pink cloud thing got me. My ego is strong.

I abondoned my sponsor, and went on some big benders throughout the holidays. My old sponsor called the holidays the Bermuda Triangle of AA. Last week I said enough and went through withdrawal. It sucked. The worst flu ever and I said to myself I would never ever again. I got through it and started to feel better again and then Saturday that itch came and I got a big case of the F*** its, and I went out again. Now Monday and a few pints of vodka again and here I am. I have to go through this ish again. Sucks!!!

I'm going to see my doctor tonight because I probably need some meds, but the hard part is after the withdrawal. I need to get back into AA and to find a sponsor whom I can relate to.

Anyway, I just wanted to put my story out there. This crap is so embarrasing. I just want to move on with my life!!! Reading on this forum gives me hope....
Old 01-24-2011, 07:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Welcome Joe - I can relate to trying the "controlled drinking" approach (probably most everyone here has tried it). We start to feel better and when that itch comes up again, we forget why we wanted to stay sober in the first place.