New here

Old 01-04-2017, 01:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here

I'm so glad I found this forum - I'm new here, hope this is okay that I post here as it's my first time.

My name is WendyLew (not my real name of course) and I am living with someone who is a long time drinker. He started way before I met him and I'm one of those people who just didn't want to see the warning signs when they first started popping up. We've been together almost 20 years now and he's started to become an angry drunk. My evenings are spent feeling tense and filled with worry that I'm going to be saying the wrong thing (oh wait, everything I say is the wrong thing!) It's gotten so bad that I'm feeling chest pains now that are making me worried about my adult child who lives here with me.

This is not his child, she's from a previous relationship and they have not spoken a word to each other in over a year. She refuses to talk to him as he's repeatedly made me cry and break down. His game seems to be "how many more ways can I break my partner?" He's upset with her living here and does not like me spending time with her when he gets drunk. He figures he should be the center of attention. I think he is starting to resent that she's here as she's trying to get a job and begin her life after her college degree.

He's just recently started to become a little physical. I don't mean he's hit me but I've gotten the odd nudge now and then when he gets verbally abusive. Just enough to worry me. My daughter has been trying to get me to leave but he's financially trapped me (in a way) and I see it for what it is now - he argued with me not to get a job when I could have gotten one and said he'd be the provider). I have access to the money so hiding some is do-able but I dont have a lot to work with.