Notices

Friend went behind my back after confronting me

Old 04-12-2014, 03:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Friend went behind my back after confronting me

I quit drinking several years ago after my SO requested I go into IOP. I am a doctor. I would not jeopardize my career. Our baby girl died after 3 months and I decided to visit for my friends birthday. While there, I noticed wine next to sparking grape juice at the bar. Thinking my friends would be none the wiser, I broke my 3 year sobriety. I just needed a break from thinking of our daughter. I went back numerous times for more in a discrete manner and never felt drunk. This was a 1 time thing! Anyhow, none of my friends said a thing to me. 4 days ago I receive a call from my best friend who was not there. She said that a friend who was present at the party saw me drinking wine and refilling 9 times! It was NOT 9 times. She went behind my back. I denied drinking saying it was just grape juice and she had nothing to worry about (because she doesnt need to worry being it was a one time thing)... After pretty intense interrogation, we hung up. Behind my back, my best friend called my SO to tell him she felt i was drinking. This is the LAST thing I needed and I denied it to him as well bc frankly it again was a 1 time thing and nobody need worry. It was out of control so i wrote an email to all of them saying i did not drink and that I would appreciate if people would bring concern to me instead of everyone else. None of the 3 friends have spoken to me since. Im angry! Im not drinking now. I don't know what to do. I cannot come clean at the moment. Anyone?
Old 04-12-2014, 03:12 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

So sorry for your loss.
You did drink. Your friends clearly know that.
It's their right to be concerned, but they should have come to you, not each other. Take a few deep breaths and think this through.
Old 04-12-2014, 03:19 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover