Notices

Good mothers don't drink irresponsibly!

Old 07-21-2013, 05:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Good mothers don't drink irresponsibly!

This is my first time here and i am so relieved after reading your posts ,that i am NOT alone . So many things i have wanted to talk about but refrain due to my shame and trying to work through my dirty little secret ,which is not a secret anymore because i could only hide it for so long. I am a 51 year old Mother of 4 , i have been an alcoholic for at least 15 years.I have been to rehab twice .it worked the first time,i didn't drink for over a year.the 2nd time it was only months. I was 6 months sober until a'friend' bought me 6 bottles of mixed wines for looking after her dog.That was it !! After really thinking i had finally beaten it with such strong convictions...it took one glass and i was hooked..Why do i keep fooling myself and think this time i will just have 1 glass and i CAN control it this time! Needless to say 6 weeks later of binging and bed and not seeing my kids, isolating myself due to my 1 day of drinking and next day in bed ritual, recovering and trying to get over my hangover i am guilt ridden AGAIN. I am 2 weeks sober and terrified as i can think rationally now..which dosnt help. My husband loves me ...i feel like i am dying.What a waste of my life :-( Help
Old 07-21-2013, 06:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm so sorry for how you feel. Know that "good mothers don't drink irresponsibly" is just not true. There are so many of us, self included, that are mothers and suffer from alcoholism. What will make you an irresponsible mother is not accepting it and dealing with it this time. You have a chance. Have you sought help, gone to meetings, therapy? You can do it and you are SO WORTH IT!
Old 07-21-2013, 06:04 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome SnoozyQ,