Notices

I'm lost and don't know how to help.

Old 02-05-2010, 10:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm lost and don't know how to help.

My husband of 2 years in currently in medical detox from Loritabs. He admitted in the beginning that he was addicted to them. Now after he lost 2 jobs, and almost his son's life in a wreck, he is in rehab. I have been supportive thru everything and very glad he is in rehab, but I'm so scared of what will happen next. He is my best friend and I have noone else to talk to about this. I have no experience in this and I want him to succeed in this choice he made. I don't want to push him or say the wrong thing but to encourage his progress positively.
I am a pretty strong emotionally, but lately I haven't been. I just don't want to be selfish when I have been so unselfish for 2 yrs. Any advice or constructive critizism will be appreciated.
Thanks
Old 02-05-2010, 10:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Go ask the Multivax

Rehab was nothing but a positive experience for my husband and family. There should be a family and friends meeting soon that can help. There's also a family and friends section in this forum.

I wish you all the best!
Old 02-05-2010, 10:38 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR. Sorry you are in the position you are in. It has got to be difficult. You may have already found it, but I wanted to make sure. This is the section that Alizerin was talking about here.

Friends and Family of Substance Abusers - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

I too wish you nothing but the best. You are welcome to post here as well, but the other might be of some important help to you.
Old 02-05-2010, 12:03 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome to ST sixftover

I have no experience with your situation but I know many people who have come out of rehab and gone on from strength to strength

I wish you and your family well.