Notices

New here

Old 05-11-2022, 02:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here

Hello, i was looking for a support forum/group to help me through my drinking problem. I've been drinking (getting drunk) everyday for the last 5 years. I had a clean spell for 6 months in 2016. I've been a heavy drinker off and on for about 10 years, but it wasn't until the last 2 years that i realized i have a serious problem.

I'm functional and have a good job, i've never had a problem going to work. But my drinking has caused me to turn into a recluse. I'd rather stay home and drink than go out and do anything. I'm an introvert by nature and not very social, but i've noticed i will intentionally make excuses not to do things so i can drink.

Long story short i just hit 40 and feel like it's time to get away from it. I do have the ability to control myself when it comes to anything, but it seems i enjoy drinking way too much. I typically drink 8-12 beers a night. I can binge drink once i get home from work. There was a period last year where i would basically drink all day Saturday and Sunday, but since i got into a relationship that has stopped. However i'm still drinking way too much on a daily basis. My GF lives an hour away and i live alone, so it's very easy to conceal it.

Never gotten into trouble or anything, but i know i've been lucky. Most of my drinking is done at home and i know better than to drive.

So the last 3 weeks i cut my drinking in half, which was a good starting point. I plan on stopping completely this weekend. It feels good not to get drunk every night, but it has been challenging to reduce the amount i drink. To be honest i just feel bored out of my mind.