Notices

My ego

Old 02-26-2010, 11:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My ego

Hello everyone. This is my first time seeing this website and I think I need to be here. So ok...here it goes...

I have been a secret alcoholic for about 6 years. I don't know how I have done it for so long, but I have. In the back of my mind I think " Please, just call me out on it and I will get help."

But nothing changes. So, I keep hiding. I know my addiction and still keep it alive. I am only 26 years old and I am drinking almost a half a bottle of whiskey a day now. Sometimes more. I don't know why I do it but yet, I do understand why at the same time. I'm an alcoholic. I can't come to grips with that.

I see the spiral but do nothing about it. Went to an AA meeting. Just seemed so odd. Just more routine to replace the drinking.

So now it has to come to the point where I think society is wrong. Not me. Spend our lives trying to make money and be a part of the machine.

Is that the drunk mind talking though? That we are all just greedy animals?

It's my ego I can't let go of. I think I am so smart when I am drunk. I can solve all the problems in the world. Even when drunk, I still question how I am able to keep the addiction alive. How can I fool the people I care about for so long?

It makes me feel superior and I really hate that feeling. Like I am better than than most, but I know I am not.

I am sorry to vent, but I think I need it.

Help me please.
Old 02-26-2010, 12:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

I think you may not be fooling people quite as much as you think you are. I think that often, people choose to not see what is in front of them, because they don't want to feel uncomfortable.