A mother searching for answers

Old 07-27-2007, 12:11 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Smile A mother searching for answers

I am really new to this experience, so please forgive my computer skills. My son is an alcoholic. Wow, that is a word I never dreamed of typing much less saying. While he was in college, I thought it was only a party mode. Well, the party ended several years ago and the drinking is horrible. He has now been employed three times due to his drinking. He is single and asmits he has a problem.

The part that you guys might be able to assist me. He lies, hides the booze and the mood swings are horrible. He tells me he is in out patient rehab...joke. The rest of the family has given up. He is my son, I will never give up.

I don't know how to help him...would someone offer some suggestions
Old 07-27-2007, 12:29 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, sunshine I'm glad you're here and I hope we can be of some help. Please notice the stickies at the top of our forum. You will find a great deal to read and a wealth of information on this terrible disease. As I always suggest, please find Al-Anon meetings in your area. Try six meetings, which is what is suggested to newcomers, and see if you find a few that work for you. It took me awhile, but I found my niche at two meetings in my area.