New member - antidepressants

Old 02-01-2002, 06:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Post New member - antidepressants

Hello. I am new to this message board and new to recovery. My husband is an A and has stopped drinking two weeks ago. I have just started going to Alanon meetings and have already learned so much. My husband does not want to start going to AA.
Last night we had a typical blow up at our house. My son is 16 and is rebellous. He and my husband do not get along. There are too many dynamics to describe here, but trust me they are bad. After a brief argument last night I strated screaming. I am so fragile now, and at my breaking point. The windows in the house were open and I am sure my neighbors could hear me screaming. I wish I could control my anger. I also feel a bit hopeless about my chances for recovery and our chances for recovery as a family.
Question: Does anyone have experience with recovery and taking antidepressants? I have taken antidepressants in the past for about 1 year. I struggle with low grade depression all the time. I am hesitant to begin taking them again because I am not sure they are good for me or safe. My daughter said last night that she was tired of me being in a bad mood all the time.
Any thoughts?
Old 02-01-2002, 07:40 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Rose!
Welcome to the recovery forum!

The addict in my life just had a very bad experience with the anti-depressant, Paxil, so I am perhaps a little biased. I'd think that for those of us dealing with people who are using mind altering drugs, the last thing we'd want to do is join them if we don't have to. If you've tried fixing your diet, getting regular exercise and rest (I know that's the tough one with an addict in the house)... if you've tried punching bags, prayer and the joke-a-day web pages... then maybe.

You must have some basis for thinking the drug you took may not be good for you. Did you have side effects?