My brother died

Old 08-01-2010, 01:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My brother died

I started learning Jeff Bridges song "Brand New Angel" from the Crazy Heart film sometime in May.

I kept asking myself why am I learning to sing a death song? I knew my brother was dying, he had chronic alcoholism and cancer; he'd lost all his teeth to drinking and hadn't eaten properly for 10 years.

He was homeless frequently over the last 25 years. Then he would get himself together and find a menial job and a one-roomer. It was back and forth for him. Some months he had a place to live, some months, not.

His daughter found him 10 years ago living in a Christian shelter. He was finally eating and taking care of his hygiene. He moved to Arizona and into another shelter and tried AA. He was sober for brief time and I remember how he was a totally different person then, positive, happy, stable.

But he went out again and never came back.

He was caring and giving, and so intelligent. He was one of the most intelligent and well informed people I have ever known.

I spent about two weeks with him last summer at this time. I travelled to the states to try and fix a problem with another alcoholic brother who is also mentally ill. (I'm a codie, yeah).
It was a wonderful two weeks: I loved being around him and enjoyed his company. I loved him. I'm a recovering alcoholic and it was hard to see him carrying around his liquor in little brown bags, pouring his drinks into his 7/11 sodas. We had constant phone contact. He was eager to help in any way, despite his raging cancer.

He left his son and daughter, his twin brother and 4 grandchildren abruptly in the beginning of June. No reason. He just got in his car and left New Mexico for LA.