Notices

I'm a wreck...

Old 04-10-2009, 06:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Dopeless Hope Fiend

I'm a wreck...

The noon meeting that I have been attending for 4 years now , was sooo INTENSE today. One of our members talked at the end of the meeting about how blessed he has been by this program. How we have been his family...how he ended up in a mental instituition at the age of 20 from drinking "canned heat"..under the bridge where he lived...he GRATEFUL he is for his life...then ended by saying....he has pancreatic cancer...a month to live...then he said don't worry..."I will be alright"...
Dang it was just more than I can take....the whole room felt felt totally and completely spiritual...The woman he was sitting next to has lung cancer and is dying,,,I watched her reach over and take his hand....dontcha know I was really fightin tears,,,
It was the amazing amount of gratitude that struck me...the room was like electric at that moment...maybe it was just me but I could FEEl some higher power at work...
I hate to see my family sick and leaving the earth!! And those people truly are my family...I am really sad..I feel like crying non stop tonight..maybe I will...
Boy friday nights sho' aren't what they used to be!
Any support from my online family in recovery will be recieved with a sad but grateful heart...
love north
Old 04-10-2009, 06:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

North,
I'm so sorry to hear that. A good cry really helps your soul sometimes...I had one earlier and I honestly feel better now.
I was thinking the same thing earlier, my Friday night is the polar opposite of what it used to be!
Prayers for your friend and prayers for you 2,

Penny
Old 04-10-2009, 06:53 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Attitude of Gratitude

I imagine that was a very intense Meeting, especially if it's one you have been going to that long and have built up a close relationship with so many other Members.