Notices

Sugar and Coffee

Old 09-24-2012, 04:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sugar and Coffee

OK, I know what Under the Influence says about avoiding sweets to help reduce cravings, but jeez, I am not drinking, and some ice cream sounds really good! I am wondering what you guys think about cutting sugar and coffee out of your diet along with not drinking during early sobriety? I also know most AA meetings offer coffee, and some even have a bowl of candy, plus cake and stuff. I want to be successful with not drinking this time but I feel cutting sugar and coffee out too is a bit much to ask...?
Old 09-24-2012, 04:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I totally agree with you. Giving up alcohol is hard. If a bit of cake or chocolate gives me comfort, I'm going to have some. At some point, I'll work on eating healthy but I can't manage it just yet and I'm not going to feel bad about it.

I work in a restaurant. A few nights ago, I got a really strong craving for a glass of wine so I asked the chef for some chocolate cake. It totally got rid of my craving. Fine, I don't want to be stuffing myself with chocolate cake every night but for the moment, it's ok.

Re caffeine - cups of tea are saving my life at the moment!
Old 09-24-2012, 05:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
1000 Post Club

I have heard that cutting out sweets may help alcohol cravings in the long run. I know I always feel better eating right & not "crashing" after the sugar rush.
Old 09-24-2012, 05:22 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Hi Patty! Well, I must admit I caved in to my sugar cravings. I found it comforting early on. (There are a couple of threads about this - it's very common.) My desire for sugar calmed way down after a few months. Finally I stopped with the candy bars, lollipops, lifesavers, etc., & now it's down to just ice cream I still do drink coffee.
Old 09-24-2012, 05:31 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I've avoided the sugar rush for some reason. Probably because I've never liked sweets...