Notices

Hi Everyone - newbie here.

Old 07-09-2016, 07:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Sober Since July 9,2016

Hi Everyone - newbie here.

I'm sick and tired of the drinking, I'm sick and tired of the hangovers, I'm sick and tired of being sick and tired. I'm sitting here with a massive hangover after a binge last night. I'm tired of waking up feeling ashamed and embarrassed because I over did it, and ended up doing something stupid.

I'm not an everyday drinker, but I drink at least 1 night every weekend and some times during the week if it's not going so well. I'm one of those where once I start, I can't stop until I'm completely hammered and make a complete fool of myself. My husband quit drinking about a year ago - I don't know how he did it, sheer will power which I do not have - but I need to stop as well.

I've been trolling these forums for at least a year thinking I need to quit, but I always find an excuse not too. I think now I'm ready and I need to become 100% sober, at least for my kids sake before I do something stupid that hurts them.
Old 07-09-2016, 08:02 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Just a Girl Trying to Make It...

Welcome! I trolled for a while, too before I joined Get a plan, Dee will be along soon I'm sure with a link for it that will help.
Old 07-09-2016, 09:09 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello and welcome. I'm glad you decided to post.

I went through the cycle you describe, too. Until I became an every day drinker. I was always either dunk or hungover. It was no way to live.
I could not stop once I started, too.
For me, the binges got closer and closer together, so I hope you can stop before you have to suffer needlessly like I did.

Best to you and I hope to hear more from you.
Old 07-09-2016, 09:16 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I was in your shoes as well. Binge on the weekends, and and that then lead to drinking all day everyday, and feeling hung over or drunk everyday was no fun.