Notices

I don't know how to live sober , scared

Old 06-13-2014, 04:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Wild Child

Unhappy I don't know how to live sober , scared

Hello , Newbie here and totally scared... ====> glad I found this site. It is good to know I am not alone. I have to stop drinking as my body is tired of the abuse for the last 15 years of non -stop partying. Anxiety and Panic attacks (anxiety lasting a week) when hungover, feeling like crap.. not to mention I have gained lots of weight over the years. I do not know how to live sober. I stopped drinking yesterday and even right now want to go in my fridge and grab a beer. I have a good professional job, tons of friends and I do not drink 24/7 but some nights after work I do and weekends most def. and family situations I liked to be buzzed up to deal with them lol

I know that alcohol is the cause of my many issues and I want to live a healthy happy life, Alcohol has been my best friend for so long I feel terrified at the thought of saying goodbye forever.

Any advice /stories would be helpful - Thank you in advance!

Scared in Houston, Miss99
Old 06-13-2014, 05:02 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome miss99! You have come to a good place and will find plenty of support and people you relate with here. Alcohol might seem like your best friend now, but that relationship will change. My advice is rather blunt...stop drinking now before alcohol becomes your worst enemy! Dont think of it as forever because that can seem rather impossible. Just take it one day at a time and give the sober life a chance. I guarantee you will enjoy it immensely, and it will be the best decision you have ever made! Good luck on your journey!
Old 06-13-2014, 05:05 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome Miss99

Personally, I don;t think anyone starts off knowing how to live sober, and I think everyone is scared, at least a little