Notices

Please bear with me, I'm new here

Old 12-28-2012, 09:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Please bear with me, I'm new here

Hello. Thank you for giving me a place to express my concerns and ask questions. I just joined this forum. I have been drinking 1/2 to 1 fifth of liquor per day for 5 years, typically only at night. I have tried to quit before, but the main thing is I just don't sleep otherwise. I lay there all night looking at the clock. After 2-3 days of no sleep, I say "screw it" and buy a bottle. And then I'm back to square 1.

If you've experienced this, can you tell me how you got through it? How long does this last? A week? Two weeks? Forever? Right now, it feels like it will be forever. I have tried melatonin and OTC sleep aids to no avail. If anyone can give me an idea of a time period...how long will the sleeplessness last...that would be helpful. Just to know, "This will last for XX amount of time, but then it will get better"...

Thank you.
Old 12-28-2012, 09:23 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome DaniLeigh

I think most of us have trouble sleeping - I know I did.

It varies tho - some people fall back into a natural sleep rhythm right away...for others it takes a little longer.

It took me maybe a couple of weeks?

If it's concerning you, though, why not see a Dr?

D
Old 12-28-2012, 09:27 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I went to detox for prescription pain pills and crown royal. I took at least 2 weeks before I got any meaningful sleep. How much of that was from the pills and how much was from the crown I don't know. I believe the only thing that kept me from using was detox and then a inpatient treatment facility. I did 6 days of detox and 28 days of treatment. I now have got 65 days and am looking forward to the future for the first time. It does get easier so hang in there. One day at a time. If you can get through one day then you can get through one more thenext day and on and on . Welcome and I hope the best for you.