Notices

Childhood Dreams anyone???

Old 09-10-2008, 08:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Childhood Dreams anyone???

Hi everyone. Just thinking alot lately about when I was a child and had dreams of what I wanted to be when I grew up!! I used to love to draw, paint, sing, dress up, etc....I am now painting and just signed up for my next art class.

Just curious if anyone else has thought to go back and remember what you loved to "pretend" when you were a child. It may give you some ideas about new things to pursue in your sobriety!!

Childhood Dreams anyone??
Old 09-10-2008, 08:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
I'm just a little unwell

When I was little, I wanted to be two things: a teacher, and a mommy. But mommy came first. :P LOL! My best friend and I would play "school" ALL THE TIME and I was ALWAYS the teacher (she was a good sport!).

When I went to college the first time, I had totally lost interest in pursuing teaching. I majored in psychology but quickly found out it wasn't what I thought and wasn't what I wanted to do. I dropped out after 2 years, then went back 5 years later. This time - older, wiser, focused, and with a 3 month old son! - I took my options much more seriously. I DID look into the teaching curriculum but ultimately decided not to go that route. I do still think about what it would have been like... but then I look at the conditions in my kids' schools, and read all the articles about budget cuts and all the programs they have to do without, not to mention school shootings... *sigh*

It was a nice childhood dream, though.

HOWEVER - I DID used to be a truly amazing piano player. I am planning on spending some of my sober time taking lessons again (I've gotten very rusty over the years). I've got a beautiful baby grand sitting in my front room... it's time it got put to good use again!!
Old 09-10-2008, 09:41 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Looking For Myself...Sober