Does rehab really work?

Old 04-29-2008, 11:38 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Does rehab really work?

I keep trying to convince him of going into rehab thinking that will solve his addiction issues. Did it work for you guys or am I getting my hopes up?
Old 04-29-2008, 11:43 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I can not comment on whether it works for the addict, but my AH just did his first session of IOP rehab last night and I saw that even the one session made him really look at himself. I am not saying he liked it, I think it scared him more than anything to really see what was going on. But if he sticks with it I think this could actually do him some good. *again I'm new to this so take what ever I say with a grain of salt.
Old 04-29-2008, 11:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by anvilhead View Post
you can't fix him. you can accept he is who he is, and then figure out what YOU want to do about that..........

One of my friends who is also going through the same thing told me this yesterday and I can't understand what she means. What can I do other than leave? What other options do we have?

I don't have any control over the situation and it seems the only way to gain control is by leaving... ugh.
Old 04-29-2008, 11:54 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I agree with Anvil. It works if the addict wants to work it. Addiction is painful for the addict and anyone who is involved with them. It truly is a family disease.