Finally leaving

Old 10-24-2020, 01:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Finally leaving

I am leaving my AH. In 3 weeks I move into my own apt. It is scary as hell. I have been married for 28 years. I have lived in my beautiful house for 26 years. I was diagnosed with cancer 6 months ago. I lost my job due to covid 9 months ago. I found a new job two months ago. I am a survivor. I am choosing my battle. I am leaving the battle I have been fighting for 15 years to concentrate on kicking cancer’s ass. I am finally choosing me. How will he survive without me? I don’t care. He actually told me I deserve cancer. He has had hours of sobriety since I returned to work. I thought his drinking was bad before, hah. His longest binge had been 4 days. We are approaching 40 days now. 40 days of being drunk! How is that possible? Why am I keeping track? He hasn't been sober to discuss my leaving. How do I inform him that I’m leaving and taking furniture, supplies, kitchen stuff? I hired movers to make it fast and limit the amount of time moving. I’ve spoken to 3 lawyers. One is writing up a new will for me. Another is advising me on divorce options. The third recommended the other two. I started counseling. I’m taking all the right steps....it’s still scary. Our children are adults, 23 and 21. My oldest is moving to a different apartment the same day I am leaving. My youngest is away at college with two semesters left. At first I thought leaving was the hard part. Who will he blame for everything wrong in his life when I’m gone? Any thoughts on what chaos he will be able to wreak even when we don’t live together? What haven’t I thought of?
Old 10-24-2020, 02:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Friendly Folk

You are so inspirational! I admire your strength!
Old 10-24-2020, 06:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

BtheB,
Wow, your story is inspiring and it's wonderful you are taking care of you!
Are you in alanon? It was so helpful to me along with counseling. I had a