Will he leave me after rehab?

Old 12-08-2017, 12:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Will he leave me after rehab?

Hello, I'm very new to this whole thing so bear with me. I'll explain my situation and hopefully others have been in a similar one and can share their experiences. This will be long, sorry.

My boyfriend of just over a year has struggled with alcohol in the past, but has always "stopped on his own" for a while when he felt it was getting to be a problem. We live in separate towns about 2 hrs apart and only really see each other on weekends. I didn't really know he had a problem, other than noticing him drinking more than I would think would be normal at social gatherings. He never acted differently though, other than maybe talking a little more. He is usually very quiet and reserved. But he never was obnoxious or rude to anyone. We have had about six months all in all when he wasn't drinking. About two-three at a time, and then he'd drink at a social event and fall back into daily drinking for a few months. Rinse. Repeat.

We have talked about moving in together (which is complicated due to our current jobs and residences being in different cities) but we haven't made any concrete steps to make it happen. I have known his drinking was an area of concern, so I have been hesitant about giving up my job or moving (if that's the decision we make) if this is going to be something that dominates the relationship, but I love him more than I ever thought I could love someone, so part of me insists it's worth taking the chance. Since he always seemed to be self-aware and stop when he felt he needed to, I guess I didn't grasp the scope of the problem until last weekend.