Is it possible to help?

Old 11-02-2015, 08:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Is it possible to help?

I am new to this. I am seeking advice for how to deal with my boyfriend who has serious alcohol issues and may be an alcoholic. This has been going on for a year and it's getting worse. He keeps running away from me when I bring it up. I'm at my wits end and think I need to contact his family. To help since he won't let me. My mother is an alcoholic and this is very sensitive to me and is pretty much a deal breaker. I'm scared to walk away and leave him because I know he won't get help. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 11-02-2015, 08:45 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

As an alcoholic myself, I have to say that anytime anyone brought up the fact that I may be drinking too much, it did nothing but annoy me and make me want to drink more. Alcohol for an alcoholic is something very sacred and personal, and we will do anything to defend it. I had to hit a point that alcohol became a negative instead of the one thing that made everything better. In my case I was arrested and separated from my daughter and husband for two months before I began to want to change my relationship with the bottle. My advice at this point would just be to stand firm in your convictions, and don't enable him. Don't buy alcohol for him or make it easy for him to drink. Make that his responsibility. He has to come to the decision to change himself. It's the only way that it will be permanent. Love him, be there for him, let him know that you are worried, but don't nag him. You'll only push him away. If his drinking is a deal breaker for you, perhaps you may need to take a break from your relationship for him to see how serious you are, and for you to see if this is a relationship that you would want to pursue and eventually make permanent in spite of the struggles ahead, because if he is in fact an alcoholic, there WILL be struggles, unfortunately. I hope that helped a little.