Do I want to continue with this relationship?

Old 11-18-2007, 06:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Do I want to continue with this relationship?

MY ah is in rehad a 30 day facility. Great, but do I really want to spend my life with someone who is ALWAYS going to have to working something instead of just enjoying life. Do I want to be with someone who can relapse at anytime? Someone who has done such selfish, rude, and horrible things. I'm tired of him, he's a huge pain. SOber or not, I don't know if I want this. Why should I have to deal with it, it's not my problem. His intervention guys said I should work the AL Anon program and get a sponser. I don't feel like doing that. I'm just venting a bit and would appreciate any feed back. I have done AL Anon in the past and it's a GREAT program, it's just annoying to always have to be working on something instead of just relaxing and enjoying life.
Old 11-18-2007, 06:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I've been attending Al-Anon for almost 3 years. It was very intense at the beginning, but it isn't anymore. Today, I "work" the program in many ways, but don't feel I'm "working" it anymore. It just has become a way of life.

I am more relaxed than I have been in years, and I was pretty relaxed before, even living with alcoholism. I don't just enjoy my life, I love it.

I think it's great your husband is in rehab, but I don't believe I should stay with someone just because they are alcoholic/recovering. I owe it to myself to live the life I want - for now, it's the only one I know I have.
Old 11-18-2007, 06:16 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Doormat

ive been thinking along the same lines. my xabf is out of his facility and working on staying sober.