Trying this again

Old 08-08-2007, 07:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying this again

I joined this forum a while back and never really followed up or stayed in touch..... Guess I wasn't totally committed to helping myself.

Things with my AH aren't awful right now, but that's the cycle we go through. He got really bad in April and May - lying about going to work to go out drinking with his buddies. Went missing for one night and woke up passed out in his car.

The lying is what drives me insane. It's gotten to where even if it's not related to him going out and drinking, he still lies because somehow the truth just can't come out of his lips.

I struggle because he functions on a daily basis - manages to go to work, manages to help with dinner, putting our 3 year old to bed.... so is he really all that bad?

Anyway - I'm a newbie and I'm finding comfort in knowing that others are going through this too.
Old 08-08-2007, 07:47 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
let it grow!

glad you came back! k
Old 08-08-2007, 07:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thats what addicts do They lie.
Glad you are back!
Old 08-08-2007, 07:56 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Location: Scottsdale, AZ, one big happy dysfunctional family!
Glad you're back here, always room for one more!

I thought I was a functioning alcoholic, great father and fine husband (oh sure), good in the kitchen and at cleaning the house, nice career. But the reality is I was a pathological liar, martyr and passive-aggressive, capable of abusing my spouse and children mentally and verbally. Since I thought I was functioning great, I had no reason to stop drinking or assume that anything was wrong in my world. That is, until I crossed that line, my disease progressed rapidly, and everything fell apart.

Try reading Under The Influence if you haven't already.
Old 08-08-2007, 08:14 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
CindeRella is proof that a new pair of shoes can change your life!