Notices

Finding my way out of the fog!

Old 09-20-2005, 08:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Finding my way out of the fog!

Hi! Found this board a few weeks ago and finally decided to share my story. My DOC was marijuana and I had been smoking regularly for the past 9 years. I used to love to get stoned all the time. I would smoke every day usually with my friends. All we would do was sit around and get stoned. Before I knew it, weed was running my life! Always thinking "I can't wait to get high!" Soon, I stared to drift away from some of my stoner friends and often smoked alone. At times, I couldn't even image coming home from work and not smoking. I knew I had a problem when I would run out of weed and spend hours searching around the house for misplaced weed or roaches! I even searched around my driveway with a flashlight because I thought I dropped a roach a couple a days earlier. Talk about pathetic! After a while, I became very passive and apathetic. I started to effect my job because I was such a pot burnout, I often felt like I had no brain. Seems like I could hardly even think. I felt like I was always in a daze. My short term memory was virtually non-existant. I was alway confused and in a fog! Never knew what to say, always looking for the right word but could never find it. Weed always made me so tired and had no motivation at all. It took me a while to realize all this. Much time went by, thinking all was normal. Finally, I realized that I didn't want to smoke anymore and pot was killing my career and me as a person. About 6 months ago I quit, but that only lasted for a month and soon I was back to my old ways. Then once again back to hating weed! I quit again, although only for 13 days so far. I know this time I've quit for good, if I want to enjoy life and succeed in my career, I can't smoke again. Surprisingly, both times I've quit, I have had almost no withdrawl. No irritability and absolutely no desire to smoke! I've had some insomnia, but I remember sm