Confusing relationship situation

Old 04-07-2022, 02:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Confusing relationship situation

Hello all, first time poster who much like you all probably never expected to be here and I'm learning a lot, fast. I have no real prior experience with addicts or addiction so its a steep learning curve.

6 months ago I met a lovely guy in his 40s and we entered a relationship. He is/was kind, sweet and shy and had expressed he had "admired me from afar" for some time but didn't have the courage to approach me, even though we have some friends in common etc. He runs some small businesses for a living and seemed very "together" and reliable.

I also need to mention that drinking alcohol is really part of the culture of mycountry, its rare to meet someone who doesn't drink and binge drinking is normalised here- to go wild at the weekend is seen as normal once you can work etc and do what you need to do during the week. Of course this usually calms down with age for most people.

Anyway, we've met each others family and all has been going good until recently. He opened a new business and told me many times how stressed and anxious he is about it, how his staff are very poor etc and its a lot of work. I tried to be supportive and presumed it would calm down as time went on.

He lives with a friend who likes to party all weekend including cocaine which is also common in my city, I don't like drugs and he has been aware of this from the start start doesn't take them himself but I guess we can't control his room mates behaviour and the parties he tends to have in the home after pubs closing time.