Notices

A new day

Old 07-31-2016, 07:23 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A new day

Hi everyone, this is my first time here. I wanted to make a post to put it out in the universe that I really want and need to stop drinking.

I hope by being here I can keep myself accountable and find support in the amazing people here.

I have so many good things in my life to be thankful and happy for, but the deep pain in my heart from past and current experiences sometimes overshadows it all, then I drink, and it's a vicious cycle I'm sure you all know. I am also starting counseling again this weekend so I will have more one-on-one support and make a plan. I will be going to face to face AA meetings starting tomorrow, and online meetings as well.

Thanks for being here. It feels really hopeless because I have tried this so many times and fail..and I just don't even trust myself. But I can't give up...this time has to be different.
Old 07-31-2016, 07:26 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

I'm glad you're here. Read around and post often--it works if you work it!
Old 07-31-2016, 07:31 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome it sounds like you have a good start already this time around. Don't ever give up. The times that you have slipped or relapsed have only taught you that this time you need to be prepared with a plan. You got this! Keep posting here.
Old 07-31-2016, 07:59 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome aboard Gretel

D
Old 07-31-2016, 08:25 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR Gretel! This is a wonderfully supportive community. You should join the August class, it is for anyone who has decided to stop drinkin in August, it helps to have people at the same point in their recovery journey.

Looking forward to seeing you on here!
Old 08-01-2016, 12:53 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Do your best

Hi Gretel
Old 08-01-2016, 02:29 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Hi. Glad you found us. Read and post frequently. It's a great support forum, with a real sense of community.