Notices

Sober since 19, Considering Drinking

Old 06-24-2012, 07:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sober since 19, Considering Drinking

I am a 22 year Old male. I got sober in 2009, after my inability to stop once I started cost me too much to keep on drinking. Since being sober I worked the 12 steps (only once) and have sponsored 2 other young guys who have gotten their years (after which both moved on and got other sponsors, probably a good thing considering my current thinking!) I have gotten back into school, and have been very successful, I have also regained the trust of my family etc.
Basically the promises have come true. But I am currently battling with the strongest desire to drink - or just to be normal - that I have had since being sober.
I am currently studying abroad in Chile, where I haven't gotten my a$$ to a meeting yet. I am going through the following rationalizations in my head
1) I got sober at 19, I was immature and that is why I was a problem drinker
2) I just want to be normal like everyone else, I am tired of coming up with an explanation for my not drinking.
3) I am abroad, I have had so much success in other areas of my life, whats to say its not worth another try
4) I know AA works, so if I DO decide to quit again, I know where to go.

I know that all of these things are flawed in some way, but I figure if I put it out there maybe I cant get some advice from others on what they have done to keep their motivation to work the program up even when away from meetings, and in strife. And also how those of you who got sober young answer the rationalizing thoughts. I have been praying, which seems to help. I probably need to find someone to help . . . . but as I said my motivation is so low.
Thanks in advance,
Sam
Old 06-24-2012, 07:48 PM
  # 2 (permalink)