Notices

Sound advice needed...please

Old 05-01-2011, 02:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Servant of God

Sound advice needed...please

I posted elsewhere and didn't get a response but I'm in a real dilemma.

I have been using drugs behind my wife and kids back for 4+ years. My wife caught me using 4 years ago and I convinced her that I would quit. I ha been using for a back injury for a year at that time.

I decided it was time a little more than a week ago and quickly tapered and have now been without for 3 days.

My wife does not trust me, for good reason, and not a month goes by without her unkindly reminding me of the lies from 4 years ago. She is not at all an addict and does not understand it at all. We lie.

We have three beautiful young boys that are the content of our relationship. We do not have a mutually supportive relationship and I don't claim to own a tad over my 50% responsibility for that.

I have felt the need at times over the last few days to come out and tell her what has happened but am sure that the response is going to be bad.

Am I supposed to be honest regardless of consequence? Kids are involved. Do I need to do it now? Do I need to do it ever?

Do I need a new partner? I know one thing that has always bothered me is that the closer to health I get, the more I don't want to be in a marriage with this woman.

I don't really need answers to all of this...these are just my difficult questions.

I can't shake wanting power and controll over some of the things that can't be controlled. Letting go and giving it all to a higher power is just excruciating for me. It's arrogant, but I feel like I can fix everything with planning and execution and it's this belief that often fuels my demise.
Old 05-01-2011, 02:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Moment of Conception

You are a smart guy, see your gp, tell your wife first, i dunno. You gotta come clean in your head at least, or you flog the dead horse.

You want, need to save something... so do it.