Notices

careers

Old 09-15-2015, 08:59 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

careers

Any advice on career decisions. I am going to be getting my pay very reduced at my job due to a pending dui.. im a truck driver or was..i still can work for the same company ive been at for 12 yrs but im not gonna be to happy. The work will become much more physical with much less pay. I feel like i wanna do a complete redue at life and start all over career wise but that will require schooling in something. My sponsor also says to make no major decisions in first year of recovery. I am at 2 months sober.
Old 09-15-2015, 09:38 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

I think you are getting ahead of yourself once again gonzo, just like you did with the relationship thing. Will you not like your job? Maybe. Can you afford to live with the lower salary for a while? If so, concentrate on yourself and the reason you've found yourself in this position in the first place. It's entirely possible that if you get some sober time under your belt that there will be an opportunity right where you are now.

Looking for another job certainly isn't the worst thing in the world, but consider your motivations for doing it.
Old 09-15-2015, 09:49 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Do you even know what you want to do? Exploring your options would be a good first step.

In the mean time, work on your recovery, stay at your job, and once you decide what you would like to do perhaps take a class that will lead toward to career change. I don't think any of those fall under "major change."
Old 09-15-2015, 09:58 AM
  # 4 (permalink)