Notices

So tired of living this way

Old 08-05-2015, 11:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

So tired of living this way

So here I am after binge. I have been drinking 100proof vodka almost daily for the past six years. Not to mention that I have been taking suboxone for eight years and am a smoker. I lost my mom to an overdose four years ago and my father is an alcoholic/addict. I go one to two days withoutd drinking then back to it. I am going to give it another try today. I just need support. Does anyone have suggestions for online meetings, books, etc. I am in mid 40s and need to get my life back before it is too late. Thanks for ur support. I need to make it work this time.
Old 08-06-2015, 01:25 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
dox
paradox

Not sure how to offer my support . . .
When I achieved lasting sobriety my support came from face to face meetings and telephone calls.
Don't know if I could have done it with only on-line meetings and reading books.
There are those on this site who have managed it.
You may want to consider getting more help and support in person.
Why not call someone?
Old 08-06-2015, 02:42 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Do your best

There are SR mtns every tuesday & friday in chat @9pm

Glad you found us have you got a plan http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...at-we-did.html

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...-recovery.html
Old 08-06-2015, 03:30 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi
If you read the different forums a conclusion is drawn that getting sober is not a cake walk for most. It requires self honesty about our own drinking, foreign to most alcoholics, and acceptance that we can’t drink alcohol in safety. Continued sobriety requires constant work even when we are feeling good years from now because alcoholism is powerful, baffling, cunning and insidious which will take us out in a heartbeat.
Unfortunately there are no softer easier ways that work for the majority of alcoholics.

BE WELL
Old 08-06-2015, 05:06 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Forum Leader