Notices

Can AA be a detriment.

Old 12-04-2013, 06:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
MB8

Can AA be a detriment.

I have been sober for 27 days this being my fourth attempt. The most time I've had was 5 months. During that initial attempt at sobriety I attended quite a few AA meetings as that is what it was recommended I do if I wanted to get sober. As I sat in those meetings and listened to story after story about people ruining their lives drinking or losing everything or waking up in the middle of the the night shaking and only being able to stop them with booze. You see, I've always been a " social drinker " and by that I mean I'm very social to begin with and definately become the life of the party with a few Taadys on board. Towards the end, the severity of my drinking was 4 or 5 beers a night while making dinner and then I was done. Never had the shakes, missed work, ruined my life, or lost everything. My major issue was that I had those 4 or 5 beers every night. There were many times where my two little girls wanted daddy to read them a story or tuck them into bed and daddy was to tired. That is when I looked in the mirror and said, it's time. Do I miss the buzz, no doubt. Do I miss wondering if my breath smells like booze on the nights when I did have the energy to read my girls a book? No way. I have now been told by a friend with a lot of time, don't compare. Just listen and maybe you will here something that helps. I have a very successful career and a wonderful wife and family. I am doing everything in my power to convince myself that I am like these people in the rooms so I can embrace the program and quit bucking it. I can't even get to the first step because I can't wrap my arms around " my life has become unmanageable ". My life is better then I ever dreamed in my wildest imagination. Beer was just never as big of a part in my dreams. Thanks for listening. MB8
Old 12-04-2013, 07:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)