Notices

Professionals and AA

Old 10-08-2013, 10:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Professionals and AA

I have been in recovery mode for a few months. I go to AA regularly and really enjoy the meetings and gain a lot of insight and also have an opportunity to share some of my thoughts which I hope helps others.

I do find there are a lack of professional people that go to AA. Please don't take this the wrong way. I am a professional and their are professionals at the meetings. However there appears to be less in ratio to non-professionals.

Is this coincidental or do professionals feel out of place or are there other reasons?
Old 10-08-2013, 10:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sober Alcoholic

I have known professionals in larger metropolitan areas that never let on who they are. Other occupations, like judges, have a VERY difficult time attending. There are often special meetings for the folks who desire, (and often require) an extra degree of anonymity. Sometimes an AA central office can put a caller who needs this in touch with these groups.
Old 10-09-2013, 01:10 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I was a professional drinker. The ways I moved my life around to be able to drink and still maintain a job and a home might impress the average CEO..lol

I am making light and I am not taking you wrong. I do understand that at most meetings you are not going to run into the banker or the doctor.

I work in an office. I am not high on the totem pole by any means but many of the people I associate with either do not have jobs, are in school or work labor jobs. I learn quite a bit from them.

I have it easy. My kids are raised, I am not married and my job is not physically demanding. It really makes some of my issues seem trivial compared to what I see some of them having to deal with AND stay sober on top of it all. I feel a real sense of gratitude for my life when I see what others have to go through.