Notices

Do you have alcohol in the house?

Old 12-21-2011, 02:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Do you have alcohol in the house?

I do, My wife drinks "Like a non-alcoholic" and we have a liquor cabinet, and wine rack. We entertain sometimes, especially around the holiday's.

When I decided I couldn't quit drinking by myself, and that I had zero control over it, I made a call/ At that moment a great weight was lifted off my shoulders. I went to a group twice a week for months, and to AA meetings once a week. It was great. The urge to drink had left me completely. Well, I graduated from the group, kept going to meeting for a while, got tired of listening to the sad stories, and eventually stopped going to meetings.

The Relapse happened after 8 or 9 months sober, I had a very weak drink, then panicked and thought she would notice. I don't know what brought me to have the drink, it happened like a bolt of Lightning. So what did I do? Stopped at the liquor store the next day to replace that little bit of alcohol into the bottle. Well, guess what? I drank the rest of the bottle that weekend and couldn't remember a damn thing. She didn't know, nobody did but me.

Now, after creating an account here, and seeking out "Friends of Bill" on a different site, I feel great, I have no desire to drink again, but there is still temptation everywhere I look. What happens at the end of the next 8 months??...

Thanks for reading...and thanks for helping me the past few weeks..

Fatty
Old 12-21-2011, 02:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Gosh we alcoholics are alike!!! I have done the same thing, buying to replace what I have drank. Crazy stuff.

Yes, my husband drinks and it does bother me. It is going to be something that I am going to have to come to terms with over a long period of time. Right now I do not even have the urge because I know that if I have one, I am screwed. It will be another bender and I will feel horrible and my marriage would probably end.