Notices

Boss needs to take credit for my work

Old 03-26-2011, 08:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Boss needs to take credit for my work

A coworker dropped some hints that the reason why I am not one of the bosses favorites is because I don't pass my work along to them and let them take credit for it. I am relatively new to the corporate world. Have dabbled but this is the deepest I've been in it.

I'm having trouble grasping this idea. I do work then give it to them and they present it to the rest of the company? It kind of makes sense to me if they give a specific assignment.. what if I create something of my own on my own? Like I see a way to improve things? Apparently I have to pass that on as well.

I am being told the idea is the boss is happy, and I get to have a good reference whether I leave or stay and try to move up. I am completely baffled and having trouble getting my head around this. I would love some input.
Old 03-26-2011, 08:44 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

What kind of work do you do? Most places have a "pecking order" if you will. Support staff usually does most of the "grunt" work and the supervisors pass that along. Ideally, the supervisor will declare such work a "team effort," although, some are glory hounds and keep all the accolades for themselves.

Not meaning to sound harsh, but...you complain about your job quite often. I'm wondering if you are looking around for other employment. It just seems to me that we spend so much of our time at work, that we should be working somewhere that we, for the most part, enjoy. Life is too short to be miserable so much of the time. IMHO.
Old 03-26-2011, 08:44 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

What kind of work do you do? In my business it's easy to see who is responsible for things like sales, but in an operational enviroment many people have a hand in getting things accomplished. If you explained a little more it might be easier to to give an opinion.
Old 03-26-2011, 08:58 AM
  # 4 (permalink)