Notices

Learning to control amount you drink?

Old 09-27-2008, 01:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Learning to control amount you drink?

Hi,
I am a 20-year-old college student. Like most college students I drink on the weekends. However, unlike most college students I’ve seen alcohol ruin lives. My Dad is an alcoholic and it caused problems in my family for many years. He has been sober now for a year and a half but it’s still a constant battle for him.
Now I know alcoholism runs in family and it certainly seems to run in mine. I never drank in high school because of everything with my Dad. The first time I got drunk was freshmen year in college. Last year, I wasn’t too bad. I didn’t drink very often and didn’t always get drunk. However, in the last few months’ things have changed.
I feel like I can’t control how much I drink. I always promise myself that I’m not going to overdo it but I ALWAYS do. Every time I drink, which is Thursday, Friday and Saturday night I black out. Every single time, without fail I wake up and the last chunk of the evening is missing. I wake up the next morning feeling extremely sick and embarrassed once I’m filled in on what I did the night before. A lot of the time I wake up still drunk and am always badly hung over. Sometimes I am even sick for an entire week afterward because of having a rough weekend.