Notices

Why is it?

Old 03-22-2008, 07:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Why is it?

Why is it that I can drink way too much wine one night, get up the next day and say yeah, I'm going to go to a meeting and I'm putting the drink down. A day goes by, I start to feel better and then the next day I'm pouring another glass of wine. Why I keep doing it even when I really don't want to, and I've been doing it for forty years, just makes me crazy I guess.
No crime, no drama, nobody getting hurt except I always feel like crap and I am depressed about it.
OK so there is probably a million or more alcoholics who feel just the way I do. Maybe we need to form a political action committee and get some favorable legislation like free thirty day trips to a Carribean spa or something.
Just kidding, I don't want anything except some control over my life.
Thanks for listening,
John
Sportser is just something I ride.
Old 03-22-2008, 08:10 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Life the gift of recovery!

Originally Posted by Sportster View Post
Why is it that I can drink way too much wine one night, get up the next day and say yeah, I'm going to go to a meeting and I'm putting the drink down. A day goes by, I start to feel better and then the next day I'm pouring another glass of wine. Why I keep doing it even when I really don't want to, and I've been doing it for forty years, just makes me crazy I guess.
Definition of insanity "doing the same thing over and over expecting different results." I say that only because there came a point in my drinking that I was at a very similiar place to what you describe. I could not understand the insanity of what I was doing. I would set out not to drink but yet by that evening my mind was heading toward "but one or two would not be bad", "this time I won't drink so much", "I just need to drink beer instead of wine", and the excuses just would keep coming until I picked up once again.