Notices

self-esteem

Old 02-21-2007, 05:56 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

self-esteem

I am new in recovery (just a few days). I feel very low about myself and to add to the feeling of low self-esteem I work in an office with a man that constantly puts me down everyday. He considers himself joking but it cuts at my heart when I hear everyday that I'm lazy, that I'm a sorry excuse for a human being, if he does something wrong in the job he tells others that it was the training he received (I trained him). This is the way that he's does everybody but I get a direct blow because I sit in the room with him. By the time I leave work everyday I feel like crap and I hate him. I have tried having normal conversations with him but he is so negative. If I say it's black he says it's white. He has to right about everything. I find myself choosing my words carefully so he doesn't lash out at me with his "joking" comments. I am getting so I believe what he says because I did relapse so I must not be the best person in the world. Yesterday I left work wanting to drink after hearing how sorry I was most of the day. I have told him about this a long time ago but he slowly started doing the same thing over time.
Old 02-21-2007, 06:20 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

You want your self esteem back?

First, sit him down, shut the door, and tell him enough is enough. If that doesn't work, then suggest he meet you off work premises and you punch his lights out. Would be good for both of you......bring him down, and you up, a peg or two. You seem to be feeling sorry for yourself a bit here. Like battling the bottle, it's up to you to instigate a change sometimes. This may not set well with others here, but that's what I'd do. Good luck.
Old 02-21-2007, 06:25 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I am feeling sorry for myself. If I weren't a woman punching his lights out would make me feel a lot better but I can't beat him. LOL

Thanks for the response.
Old 02-21-2007, 06:29 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator