Revamping AA

Old 02-15-2010, 12:47 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Revamping AA

Times are changing, and so should AA. When I go to AA with my boyfriend I feel like I'm stepping 20-30 years into the past. AA is NOT good for young people, as much as some people would disagree.

I'm 24 years old, and I'll admit, I used to party like crazy. When I was in high school I did pills and snorted anything that was handed to me, when I was 18-21 I was going out to parties every night, drinking and smoking weed. I've stopped doing everything, and now I'm a full-time college student who made the deans list last semester...

So of course I still have friends (including my boyfriend) who can not stop partying. They find excuses to party....like it's Friday night....or there is a huge party...or some other reason to fit in and look cool...BUT when I sit down and talk to my boyfriend AND friends that are having problems quitting, but really really want to what I am supposed to say? Go to AA?? AA scares people my age! Depressed older people and God...lol I mean come on! It may be good for the older generation, but not for kids my age. The whole point of AA is to make friends with people who are going through the same thing and to have a spiritual awaking. No offence to older people, but people my age don't want to make friends with people in their 50's....We just need to make AA look cool and show people my age that being sober is amazing.

Something needs to be done! We need to get young people who WANT to quit a fighting chance before it's too late..

I think another reason AA doesn't work for people my age is because the word God scares them. I'm not sure about this, but I pretty sure my generation (Gen Y) has come to believe science over religion.

I believe in a higher power, religion is stupid, but the ideas that come from every religion is not..I believe in those ideas....I think AA should find another approach and not call it God...just call it a higher power or something....