Notices

Hello

Old 05-14-2006, 11:26 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello

I'm new to this, so just wanting to talk..

I'm 33 years old. Been drinking since I was 17. Father is alcoholic and some of my family is too. Wrecked my truck last weekend after driving home drunk. Totaled. Anyway, I'm trying to keep myself busy, with work, kids, and trying to get back into music (guitarist). It's kinda funny how people told me I was a great guitarist, but was horrible when I was drinking, but I still drank when I played. My best shows were sober, but my best times were drunk. After listening to myself on a recording at a show (drunk), I felt really embarrased.

What do you guys do to stay sober? (Besides the one day at a time thing)

I still want to hang with my drinking buddies (because they were my buddies before I was drinking and they all know what happened to me).

How do you guys cope??

Thank you.
Old 05-14-2006, 11:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Welcome and Hello...

When I was a drinker...so were my friends

As I stayed in recovery we had little in common.
We drifted apart.

AA is full of friends you have yet to meet
The strongest bonds I have.

It's great to see you seeking answers!
Old 05-14-2006, 11:58 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Don't get undies in a bunch

What do you guys do to stay sober? (Besides the one day at a time thing)
Staying sober is a one day at a time thing. The 12 steps used by AA programs...used daily, one day at a time is what many find as a way to stay sober.

Now beyond the use of the tools called 12 steps...
I do what ever I please. No limits to what I can do.

Things to do for replacing the time spent drinking...
meetings
school
fishing
painting
reading a good book
playing a guitar
gym
What ever you feel you would enjoy.
Old 05-14-2006, 12:13 PM
  # 4 (permalink)