Notices

hi im new in need of friends ......

Old 04-21-2006, 08:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
tanya

hi im new in need of friends ......

basically ive known for a couple of years ive had a problem im 24 and been drinking non stop since i was 16. as soon as i found drink that was it i had it all i though , i t gave me confindence and corage and i didnt want to stop nor i didnt see the point in stopping, i have lost alot of friends and partners through it but at the time i didnt care alchol was more important than anyone, i also have manic depresion and it was a good way of self medicating helping my moods, i began to feel very ill for the past 2 years , feeling sick all the time and tired, i shake constantly and now im agrophobic because i think none likes me , i stopped drinking 3 days ago and im finding it horrid, i went to the docters and im on antabuse now and diazapam , i have a fionce i want to get better but, when will i feel better how long, and how do i go out enjoymyself in social situations without drink, i have never been sober with alot of people. im scared help please xxxxxxx

Tanya xx
Old 04-21-2006, 09:06 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Don't get undies in a bunch

Hello Tanya
Welcome

Each of us are different so how long is not a set time. You are stopping at right around the same time I did and I am now 50. It does get better and you will find a social life without drinking. A good place for finding support and answers would be at AA meetings. The meetings can be bridge that show you that a social life can and does happen without alcohol.
You say your manic? Has a Dr told you that before you started drinking?
Alcohol can mask or increase and without the alcohol you could find that you are not manic. In any case, such should be shared with your Dr. Manic conditions can be treated and if there is a need for such, it will help you find that balance now that you have stopped the alcohol intake.
Congratulations on your choice.
Old 04-21-2006, 09:11 AM