Notices

Almost 6 weeks clean

Old 05-08-2024, 03:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Almost 6 weeks clean

Hello, I have not fallen off wagon and am feeling very positive. Now instead of reward drinks - I have been having reward dinners. I have also allowed myself sweets. This last one is big as I am also a diabetic (II), but what's strange is my blood sugar is low (~70) most days in morning and I have been losing weight. Up till just before Easter, I had been drinking for nearly 48 years. Also strange that I didn't have really any adverse effects other than mild craving and sugar or pickles (really) seemed to get me over the hump. Not that I believe I am in home stretch - this is the start of my new future. I was married for almost 30 years, have 3 great kids (no grand kids) and share my house with my extra fuzzy shetland sheepdog. I am retired now after working as an application engineer for various machine building companies, and for nearly the last 20 years as a high school Physics teacher. My health has never been great but always got along ok. In the fall of last year I fell in my house and needed help to get up which turned out to be a 911 call - first one.This was the first "gong". In February of this year my O2% was in low 80's which scared me, I eventually drove myself to hospital and found I had congestive heart failure. 5 days later I was released. This was the second "gong". For more than a year I had also known that my heart was in Atrial Fibrillation and after going thru (2) different Cardio Services (stop heart and re-start with 300J shock) I agreed to having laser ablation. Right before the procedure (>5hr in OR) I decided that I had heard the 3'rd "gong". I believe that these events gave me the gumption to start out on this path. So, I am reaching out to be both supportive of others struggling and to share my story. I know that I'll need a group such as this one to be successful and have already learned that there isn't any was to ease myself back into occ