Notices

I'm a worse addict now than ?I was before.

Old 03-11-2022, 10:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm a worse addict now than ?I was before.

Lets not beat around the bush. I'm back. I am drinking again, I am addicted to codeine, and I am addicted to cannabis.

It all started with the odd beer last year. I'd have a couple on a Saturday and then non for a week or two. And slowly, but surely that gap is closing in. Past 3 days I've drank 2 cans a night. I know where this is going.

You think you've got a handle on your addiction. You think you've nailed. You think you're immune.

I've been using codeine daily for about 2 years now. I've tried to quit so many times. I made it 3 days, and today I failed because the pain was so intense. My wife was a heroin addict in her youth and she said quitting codeine is similar to quitting heroin.

I deleted my supplier, so today I was running around the pharmacies grabbing boxes of cocodimol. I've got a little setup I use to extract the codeine. That's how rough it gets. S**ts real.

The cannabis issue I've never dealt with.

I'm clearly not strong enough to do this alone. I feel like I need rehab if I'm honest. I 100% need support quitting codeine.

This battle is so hard and I feel like giving up a lot of the time, but here I am. I've got 3 things I need to quit now, and the hardest is the codiene. I can not drink, at the moment I'm not getting drunk or drinking excessive. I know that's no excuse to drink, but that's the easiest one to focus on right now.

I need professional help though.
Old 03-11-2022, 10:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Yield beautiful changes

I’m so glad that you’re here! Addiction progresses as time goes on, so it’s not surprising that you’re worse off now compared to years ago. Certainly progressed for me over the years! (Chronic diseases do that)

Today is my day 17 - clean of pain medications and alcohol. Hardest/best/most humbling thing I’ve ever done for myself was ask for, and be willing to receive, help.