Notices

The time is now

Old 11-04-2021, 11:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The time is now

Hi all, I'm struggling so much, every day I wake up and think that's it I need to stay sober, by 2pm I'm desperate for a drink as I know it's the only way to take the fear, anxiety and edginess away and then I'm back in the vicious circle. I started a university degree last year and did well after staying sober for the majority of it, since early September though- after 2 months sobriety I relapsed through fear of failure etc. I'm a mature student and felt so self conscious of being older and different there that I turned back to booze for confidence, it's got a grip since and drinking every day to escape my fear of failure- even though I know the drinking is destroying my chances of achievement. It's my 41st birthday tomorrow, and I desperately need to and want to stop- managed to limit myself today but I can already feel the fear of withdrawal awaiting me. I start back in uni on Monday and want to be sober for that. I aim to go to an AA meeting tomorrow night but I know its going to be hell trying to stay dry for that... I'm scared.
Old 11-04-2021, 11:59 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Wow. Amazing or going back to study. Now just believe in yourself. Or if you cant - believe people here, who will tell you it's possible to stop - it is possible and you can do it. Only 41. I wish I had stopped at 41!
Old 11-04-2021, 12:10 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you, it's such a horrible place mentally to be in- knowing deep down that the very thing that is easing my worry and anxiety is destroying me physically, mentally and my university course. I'm gona eat tonight, determined not to buy anymore booze and hope that I can get through tomorrow sober, its sooo frustrating!
Old 11-04-2021, 12:11 PM
  # 4 (permalink)