Notices

Anyone relate?

Old 01-14-2021, 09:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Anyone relate?

Since getting sober over 6 months ago I've experienced some brilliant spells and a few rocky ones. I'm feeling like I'm in a rocky one at the minute....

It's centered around my job. I'm finding things really tough at the minute. I've been working at a really stressful building with oversight of 50 staff I'm in h and s care. I work as a manager and I oversee a few other places too, big organisation I work for and since onset if pandemic, everything has switched to online meetings. This has led to involvement from loads of different people with multiple projects. My manager at best is fairly robotic, does not appear to understand empathy and I'm finding I'm not really clicking with them. There is no working relationship to speak of. I do what is asked and try and understand where they are steering things but just don't feel any real interest or motivation at the minute which is a dangerous place to be

It's not for the want if trying, I'm going in every day, trying to put a brave front on things but finding that I'm growing tired of the endless meetings, cyclical discussions, lack of productive discussion. Stress is building and I'm burned out. I just had a week off last week

I don't know where to turn right now, I tokd my employer that I was recovering from alcoholism. Nothing I can do about that now but I told a higher manager who was really supportive and continues to be this way

It's dog eat dog in there at the minute, too many people involved in too many projects, lot of investigations and issues going on around me and I'm struggling with feelings of apathy, stress, anxiety, low mood, racing thoughts etc. Already on ad's from gp and max dose but feel absolutely spent up

My confidence is dwindling, too many cooks spoil the broth, too many meetings, lack of confidence in my immediate manager, fear of getting into trouble, paranoia. Its just getting to breaking point