Notices

Covid Off Work Making Things Harder For You?

Old 07-24-2020, 07:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Covid Off Work Making Things Harder For You?

Hello,
I am currently off work because I am a musician. It's been since March 16th and I feel like I am losing it a bit. I had a call back for a second interview for a dream job but found out I didn't get the job this week. Actually, the waiting process for them to let me know, I also did not handle well. It was a really bad week for me and I am finding that being home with nothing to do is really starting to get to me and get me down. I had a 3 day bender last weekend and then drank again last eve and blacked out. Is anyone else struggling with being home and not working or having anything to do? I feel meaningless...
Old 07-24-2020, 07:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I needed to find meaning and purpose when I stopped working.
Now I'm at the point where I couldn't give away my days to drinking again - it's just unconscionable to me.

why not write some songs, learn a new instrument, teach yourself to sight read notation if you haven't already?
or go in a completely different direction - build something - needn't be music related just involving yourself in 'hand work' like carpentry.

This virus is dreadful and I hesitate to imply there';s a good side to it, but it has given a lot of us the opportunity of free time.

You can squander that or use it wisely.

I'm sure you'll come up with lots of ideas if you're open to them

D

Old 07-25-2020, 12:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Dedicate your life and time to recovery. That’s how those who have achieved lasting sobriety and contentment have achieved it in my experience. Recovery needs to be a daily practice in my experience and it’s a great way to fill your time positively .
Old 07-25-2020, 06:56 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Some of my favorite alcoholics have been musicians. Stevie Ray Vaughan's story is pretty inspiring.