Notices

First AA meeting this evening - nervous

Old 11-09-2018, 08:46 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First AA meeting this evening - nervous

It’s my very first AA meeting this evening - in less than three hours’ time. I live in rural England and my town only has one meeting a week.

I’ve been saying for three, nearly four years now that I’m going to try a meeting but I’ve always backed out. I’ve been as close as having my shoes and coat on but changed my mind at the last minute! I’m so anxious. I’m thinking things like, what if I turn up and nobody is there? What if it’s full of people I know as it’s a small town? What if I have a panic attack? Argh!

I have got to do this now. I’ve wasted nearly four years because I’ve been too nervous to go. Four more years a slave to the bottle I’m nearly 31 and I don’t want to spend my 30s like I did my 20s - drunk, lonely, no social life or interests. Just living to drink. I don’t like myself. I want know what it’s like to be a rounded person with hobbies and interests and responsibilities, and what it’s like to have self-esteem, because honestly, I have no idea. This is what I want out of sobriety.

So this rambling post is just to publicly commit to going this evening, I guess..
Old 11-09-2018, 08:52 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

Hi Polished!

I'm glad you are going to an AA meeting, and I hope it goes well.

Here is a thread about another member's first AA meeting:

'https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/newcomers-recovery/433825-thinking-about-attending-meeting.html
Old 11-09-2018, 08:58 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm really excited for you, Polished. I can't wait until you're on the other side of your first meeting and you feel the weight is gone from your shoulders. You got this.
Old 11-09-2018, 09:05 AM
  # 4 (permalink)