Notices

new: on day one

Old 08-13-2018, 10:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new: on day one

Hi, so I'm new here. Looking for some help, people who understand. Here's my situation in a nut shell.

I am a teacher, and slowly, over the years, the evening glass of wine has turned into a bit more than a bottle. I have stopped drinking over the years, once even for little over a year (but I was taking a sleep aid), but I always slide back into it. I have a great job, two wonderful kids, and a wife whom I love very much. But this alcohol--it is so dang hard to stop. It seems to get worse as I get older.

This summer, I told myself, this is it: I have three months to really work on this. However, I spent the whole summer saying, "I'll start tomorrow." Now, I have meetings next week, and classes start two weeks from today.

I need to come clean to someone, and here I am. I have been saying it for so long, guys, I'm not drinking tonight. I have adjusted my evening routine. I'm sure sleep will be a bit of a challenge, but, I'm committing.

One of the challenges I face is that we live in a beach community where people come to vacation. Alcohol is everywhere. I walk out my door and people are on their way to the beach with their drinks. I go to the store and people are stocking their coolers. Lots of bars. I do not go to bars, but they are part of our landscape.

I want to use this site and you guys for some accountability, so I plan on posting how things are going, and possibly even asking for advice or support.

Thanks for reading.

Carl M
Old 08-13-2018, 10:31 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, Carl! There is a wealth of knowledge and experience on this site, as well as healthy dose of hope