Notices

Having a hard time.

Old 10-02-2017, 08:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Having a hard time.

Hi I'm new to this. I am an alcoholic and having a terrible time trying to stay sober. I feel completely alone in my struggle. I hate who I am when I drink, I act crazy and now my family and friends don't want to have anything to do with me. I was sober for 7 months, my ex boyfriend and I broke up. He is in jail now and he is a crack addict. I relapsed in July because I was having trouble dealing with the pain of the above issues. I have been drinking almost every day since July 10th. I'm so mad at myself, I'm disappointed in myself. Any advice how to remain sober during difficult times?
Old 10-02-2017, 08:20 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Hope, sorry to hear of the time you have been having.
Are you still drinking now or have you stopped?

Stopping drinking and staying stopped will all be helped by having a recovery plan and being able to recognise your triggers and having tools at your disposal to combat those urges.
Lots of information on here on plans and wellbeing toolboxes etc and a lot of great people with far more experience than me.

Just wanted to say hello and show you some support. Really great place here so you are not alone.
Old 10-02-2017, 08:45 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Silverback4 View Post
Hi Hope, sorry to hear of the time you have been having.
Are you still drinking now or have you stopped?

Stopping drinking and staying stopped will all be helped by having a recovery plan and being able to recognise your triggers and having tools at your disposal to combat those urges.
Lots of information on here on plans and wellbeing toolboxes etc and a lot of great people with far more experience than me.

Just wanted to say hello and show you some support. Really great place here so you are not alone.