Notices

Hello

Old 07-28-2017, 02:34 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello

Thanks for accepting me. I am a 67 year old woman. I have been fighting my alcohol addiction for more than 30 years with many periods of sobriety always followed by relapse. I am now 3 months and 4 days sober and I have finally stopped fighting and accept that I cannot drink. I will be very interested to hear other people's stories and to find out how they manage to maintain sobriety. Thank you.
Old 07-28-2017, 02:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Well done that's great, there is a lot of help support and knowledge on here, good luck
Old 07-28-2017, 02:46 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome May, and congrats on 3 months and 4 days of recovery. Like you, I found that once I accepted that I can no longer drink and I stopped fighting, recovery became a lot easier.
Old 07-28-2017, 02:55 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
under new management

Welcome, Maycowan

You will find lots of kindred spirits here

I am 58 years old and drank for most of my life, from the age of 16 and on and I have been sober now for 2 1/2 years. The early days of sobriety were not easy for me but the results have been worth every second.

Accepting that I can never drink again has taken such a burden off of me. I no longer have to try to control my drinking (never worked), I just do not drink, ever. Stopping the fight was the best thing I ever did

This site is a true Godsend for me. I come here everyday, read, post and learn. The wisdom, support and knowledge are constant on SR and I have found that people are quick to respond to posts.

I hope to see you around and hear more of your story. Read, read, read! There is much gold to be mined here
Old 07-28-2017, 02:55 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Great to meet you, Maycowan! Welcome to an encouraging place.

I drank 30 yrs. too. I was so afraid to let go of it.