Notices

First Time Being Ill While Sober

Old 02-15-2017, 04:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
The best way out is through -- Robert Frost

First Time Being Ill While Sober

Hello! This is my first time being sick while sober -- it is an upper respiratory infection, presenting as sore throat, sneezing, coughing, headache, and sinus pressure. I have definitely had worse (I have early stage emphysema caused by chemical exposure and frequently have influenza and upper and lower respiratory infections). The difference is that this time, I am sober. Of course when I was terribly ill, befevered and delirious, I would not drink for a day, maybe two, but I was not sober. It was always a sacrifice, not drinking; I sipped whisky laden hot toddies and spoke reverentially of their medicinal benefits.

To be clear, I am not craving alcohol. I am damn dehydrated and thirsty for my pickle juice, club soda, and lime elixir! My throat seeks the herbal benefits of tea! But, I am making some interesting observations. Lest you be concerned that I am wallowing in self-pity, please be assured that I have recently become sober and every experience is brand-spanking new and part of my process is noting the similarities and differences.

1). I feel really crappy. I guess I was expecting to not feel as sick as I usually have because I am not drinking alcohol. While I don't feel as ... fuzzy and heavy ... there is no question -- I am bona fide indisposed! I keep thinking that I will walk my dog or work out or continue my spring cleaning projects only to leave my bed for the sole purpose of refilling my mug with hot water or eating more fruits and vegetables.